Author Frank Bongiorno has written about the decade in which he came of age. Photo: Graham Tidy Australian Prime Minister Bob Hawke (left) and Treasurer Paul Keating (right) at the opening day of the National Economic Summit in Canberra on 11 April 1983. Photo: David Bartho

For those of us who were working adults and parents, even teenagers or children, the 1980s still seem like yesterday. To have those years treated as the past makes us feel old.

Thirty years is long enough to make history of the decade of Hawke and Keating, Alan Bond, Midnight Oil, permed hair and nouvelle cuisine, the subject of Frank Bongiorno’s book The Eighties, which is shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Australian History Prize.

Mike Baird announced the shortlists for the 2016 Premier’s History Awards on Tuesday, with 15 books and films in five categories selected from 172 entries.

The judges noted that “Bongiorno’s pioneering survey fizzes with the energy of that decade … [He] is particularly attentive to the way ordinary Australians experienced economic change – embracing credit cards, for instance. Tectonic changes in sexuality, gender roles and the labour market, and increasing ethnic diversity are explained and brought to life with acumen, wit and sympathy.

“With relatively little historiography to rely on, this comprehensive survey of a decade is an extraordinary accomplishment. Bongiorno has blazed a trail of his own. The book is a triumph of research and interpretation. It is a remarkable achievement for the author to write so clear-sightedly about the decade in which he came of age.”

Bongiorno’s book will compete for the $15,000 prize with Stuart Macintyre’s study of an earlier decade in Australia’s Boldest Experiment: War and Reconstruction in the 1940s, and Alison Holland’s Just Relations, about Aboriginal rights campaigner Mary Bennett, whose papers were confiscated after her death in 1961.

The winners will be announced at the State Library of NSW on September 2 as part of the launch of NSW History Week, which is a public event.

2016 NSW Premier’s History Awards shortlist (in alphabetical order)

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

The Eighties: The Decade that Transformed Australia, Frank Bongiorno (Black Inc)

Just Relations: The Story of Mary Bennett’s Crusade for Aboriginal Rights, Alison Holland

(UWA Publishing)

Australia’s Boldest Experiment: War and Reconstruction in the 1940s, Stuart Macintyre

(NewSouth Publishing)

General History Prize ($15,000)

Holy Legionary Youth: Fascist Activism in Interwar Romania, Roland Clark (Cornell

University Press)

Illicit Love: Interracial Sex and Marriage in the United States and Australia, Ann McGrath

(University of Nebraska Press)

Prince of Darkness: The Untold Story of Jeremiah G. Hamilton, Wall Street’s First Black

Millionaire, Shane White (St Martin’s Press)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

Fractured Families: Life on the Margins in Colonial New South Wales, Tanya Evans

(NewSouth Publishing)

Lord Wolseley Hotel: A Social History of a Very Small Pub, Shirley Fitzgerald (Lord Wolseley


Unnamed Desires: A Sydney Lesbian History, Rebecca Jennings (Monash University


Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

Cyclone, Jackie French and Bruce Whatley (Scholastic Press for Scholastic Australia)

Freedom Ride, Sue Lawson (Black Dog Books, an imprint of Walker Books Australia)

One Thousand Hills, James Roy and Noël Zihabamwe (Omnibus Books for Scholastic


Multimedia History Prize ($15,000)

The Waler: Australia’s Great War Horse, Marian Bartsch (Mago Films)

The Crater, David Bradbury (Spirited Films)

Afghanistan: Inside Australia’s War, Victoria Midwinter Pitt and Alan Erson (Essential

Media & Entertainment)

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美甲美睫培训学校.